The main building at Ormond College was designed by Joseph Reed (Reed and Barnes) and opened its doors on College Crescent in March 1881. The gables project started out with the question, “How can we utilize the spare space we have in the main building roof without compromising the heritage significance of the iconic facade?” The building already provides student living quarters on two levels, either side of the grand clocktower above the entrance. The steeply pitched gable roof above offered large underutilized volumes.